It Is Not Just Plagiarism It’s My Life

Absolute Disbelief
This TRICK set up a Facebook page that mirrored mine. No really, she copied and pasted my posts as her original material, stole my blog posts and turned them into “notes” tagging friends and celebrities, and even hinted that soon there will be a book, “Pocketbook Principles” from my “PooNannie Principles,” lessons from my Daddy.

Here are a couple of examples how she modified my posts:
On this one she removed “-Sam Green, Sr. aka My Daddy” entirely. No credit to him, at all for his quotes.

This was a post with comments on the Grown IS Sexy! page that she turned into a note, tagging people.

She’s copied some of my blogs too, including my Divorce Is Not An Option blog and creating a note.

As I scrolled her page, my “NEXT Decision BETTER” became her “Next and Better Decision”. My Daddy’s quotes, “Sam Green, Sr.” became just “S G, Sr.” and my “Lessons from the Barbershop” became her “Lessons from the Shop”. My “We’re Growin’ UP” became her “We’re Goin’ Up” and my “Grown IS Sexy” became her “Grown and Sassy”. She made these changes but EVERYTHING ELSE remained as I originally posted them.

Here are some examples of how she’s done that:

Here are some single posts dating back to May 2010 that she copied and pasted:

There are SO MANY of my single posts that she turned to notes.

I created the Grown IS Sexy! “fan” page on Facebook and everyday for the past 2 years I post and engage discussions on self development for self leadership integrating many terms I’ve created from seminars and workshops over the years that have taken on a life of their own. And I freely share my experiences and life lessons.

Flattered My Ass, I Am PISSED!

Me and Daddy

Some of you know the relationship that I have with my father.  At 44, I am still Daddy’s little girl.  Along with many other things, my father taught me everything I needed to know about sex much of which I learned growing up in his barbershop.  I hold those lessons very near and dear.  So, for this TRICK to claim my experiences as her own, even my Daddy as hers, PISSES me off!

I am not flattered that she wants to be me or that she is claiming my work.  My daily interaction with those on my fan page is, kind of, my ministry.  I love sharing digestible nuggets that help others “Courage UP” and make better decisions. And we have some powerful discussions on the Grown IS Sexy! page and now, frankly, I feel violated.
She has gone as far as extracting from the comment sections where I’ve clarified a post all the more or responded to people’s personal experiences to extract each of my comments and create “notes” on her Facebook “fan” page, which are the equivalent to a blog – all my words, verbatim.

I have myself on Google Alert (which I highly recommend), so whenever anybody posts, mention or repost my work I get an automatic alert and I periodically Google my terms. I started using “Sam Green-ism” and so I Googled it and found that she had been copying and pasting my work for over a year. I went back to July 2010 and was exhausted so I stopped.

We’re All Born With Talent

You've Got Talent

Well, not exactly! We are all born with natural propensities – a natural lean toward certain abilities.  And it is every individual’s task to identify what those are (the easy part because they show up even if you’re not looking for them) and then to hone those skills which unveil our talents. It is then our job to develop those talents over time.

I’m very passionate about individuality, and so clear about the different traits and experiences that make us all different and valuable that I teach it; I’ve produced two audio books about it, Living in Harmony and Living by Design.  If this thief would spend her time honing her own natural abilities, she’d find the wealth of value within her and would feel absolutely foolish stealing my work.

There Are No Shortcuts
Those of us who have known levels of success know that the path to success is not a straight line and there are no shortcuts!

I was a traveling speaker and trainer, literally in a different city every day teaching professional development – communications, interpersonal, and leadership skills.  I have a bachelor’s degree in psychology and since age 17, I’ve been fascinated with temperaments, so in every session I’ve ever taught I teach temperaments; show people their individual value. It was all on the road when I realized that I loved teaching personal growth; seeing people have light bulb moments.

Bottom Line: my path, my experiences, my natural abilities and honed talents make me the expert on the things that I teach, including PooNannie responsibility.

While I am pissed that she would try to claim my work as her own, even hinting at a book of MY “PooNannie Principles” only she’s calling it “Pocketbook Principles” she is not me.

Speaking of no shortcuts…HELL, do you know how long it took me to put “PooNannie” in writing?!?!

I’ve been known for talking about the “PooNannie” in sessions for years, but I was so afraid of being known as “The PooNannie Lady.”  People have been asking for my book, but I had to get comfortable with my ability to tastefully convey the messages AND, frankly, to be known as The PooNannie Lady before I would share them in such public forums.

The book is coming. I’ve been working on it and I’m not rushing it because of this. It’s my path, my experiences – it’s MY LIFE! I’m clear that nobody can tell, nor share my life better than I can. Nobody can steal that!

FYI…I have reported the page to Facebook but haven’t heard from them yet, but get this…just before posting this, another Facebook page surfaced with my posts called: Life After Separation and Divorce. From what I can tell it’s the same TRICK (it’s the nicest thing I can call her right now)!

There are literally more posts on her page that are mine than are not! I scrolled her page in absolute disbelief! She continues to delete my supporters comments but my content remains. You can see the page here.

Here’s to finding the wealth of value within you and developing the best, YOU! We’re Growin’ UP…Grown IS Sexy! 😉

UPDATE (October 21, 2010): Since I posted this blog, I’ve learned who she is and reached out to her. Many of my supporters after hearing about this covered her page, comment after comment, about infringing on my intellectual property. She’s so insistent on continuing that she is diligently removing all of their comments but not my content. Neither has she responded to me.

UPDATE: (October 22, 2010) Like many of you I’ve worked on my brand for years and this just does not sit well with me. As of yet, Facebook still hasn’t responded to my submission but we have self-policed and got her attention. But it doesn’t mean she’s repentant; she’s changed her settings so that we can no longer leave comments and as a result all of  our comments were automatically removed, but my content still remains.

From what I have gathered about her, she has several businesses…a hustler! All I know is that publishing MY CONTENT had better not be one of them. Again, many many thanks to those of you who have rallied with me on this.

If you had any kind of reaction to this post please tell me about it in the comment section below.

And, please share it with your Social Media friends. DO share your gifts, but beware. 😉

All the best,
Zara
Speaker, Individuality Advocate
Author of Living by Design and Living in Harmony

About Zara Green
Hi, I'm Zara Green, A "Do Better" Fanatic and Your Advocate...I'm glad you're here! As a personal growth Author and Speaker, who's Individuality & Resilience-Focused, I spark conversations that expand thinking, encourage effective & productive responses and produce better individual decision-making and better interpersonal communications in relationships. Growing Up with Zara because life is meant to be enjoyed ;-)

18 Responses to It Is Not Just Plagiarism It’s My Life

  1. I’ve had similar stuff happen with my writings and no it is NOT flattering. It’s called stealing!!!! I am woman hear me roar!!! Hope you get it resolved FAST.

  2. Zara Green says:

    Thanks Jennifer! When you’re public with your stuff and it’s good, there will be a degree of thievery but this is RIDICULOUS! We just keep it moving, right? 🙂 xo

  3. Zara, you know that I share your anger. My stomach was in knots after learning of what this person did. Theft is such a violation and to steal not only the work but in essence your life experiences is unconscionable. Yet, like the strong woman that you are, you have used even this to teach and lead. This woman represents what is wrong with many. You cannot steal another’s success. You can learn from others, take their blueprint and make it your own but you cannot simply take a finished product copy what you see and be a success. As you noted, our journey is integral to how and what we produce. It is the living of that life that gives us a unique perception and world view. I have enjoyed your lessons, life stories and the lively conversations from the beautiful community that surrounds you. Your words resonate so deeply with me because they are your words, your voice, your life. While I want this person to experience the consequences, I also pray that she will find healing and begin to believe in herself. We already have a Zara Green, and imitators simply leave a bitter after taste.

  4. Zara Green says:

    *deep breath* I am fighting back the tears…thank you, Karen! 🙂

    I love sharing what I know and throwing ConZaraFetti! I’m all about mentoring and if I can help somebody, I do. I help far more than most will ever know.

    It hurt my feelings *pouting* 🙂 I’m getting over it though.

    That was a beautiful comment and I feel the same way about you…we’ve been twiends a long time and I can’t wait to hug your neck one day. xoxoxo

  5. Liz says:

    Zara, I am so sorry and so disappointed that this imposter thought it was ok to steal someone else’s work. I know that you worked hard to build your brand only for someone else to lay claim.
    Know that your real supporters are rooting for you and hope all of this gets resolved. I’m sure that you have reported this to Facebook. If they don’t take action, secure a lawyer!
    All the best, peace, love and blessings to you…

    Hollygrove all day!!

  6. Zara Green says:

    @Liz – yes, I do know that I have my base of supporters and it really feels good to have y’all show up when folks showin’ out!

    I have reported it to Facebook. I’d hate it for ’em if I got to go to tap my ROOTS…the 17th Ward! LOL!

    Thanks Liz! xoxo

  7. Diamond says:

    It is sad that someone has used your material as their own. I’m exeriencing the same nonsense regarding my Diamond Model. You’re right… no one can present our information like we can and no one will be blessed by using it like we will.

    We personally know the Original Master of ALL your Brands. Keep doing you Zara Green. ♥♥♥

  8. As a reader/fan/follower or whatever you want to call it, it speaks volumes when you can recognize written words and immediately know the source of its ORIGINAL creator. I don’t find it flattering and I’m thrilled to death you called her out – publicly.

  9. Zara Green says:

    Thanks for the support, Diamond!

  10. Zara Green says:

    @Donna – that feels good. You’ve known of my “but I don’t wanna be known as the PooNannie Lady” struggles, and you’ve seen me work it out. 🙂 Thank you, Donna!

  11. Zara I am so happy that you are fighting this. You are helping all of us by exposing “Sassy”. I posted the following comment on her page and just in case she erases it, I’ll post it here also. Something tells me she frequents this page.

    “Miss Anne, now isn’t this ridiculous? If my math is correct, you probably learned about the dangers of plagiarism oh…50+ years ago in high school English class. And at your age, surely you have been able to create at the very least, ONE original thought? Why steal? You’d probably never draw a parallel between yourself and a common thief such as a pickpocket or a purse snatcher, but in actuality you are far more dangerous. You steal valuables that cannot be replaced.

    The great thing about the Facebook community is that you have the option of just going away. Do that Miss Anne, go away. Take down this page and the others, (because they contain no original material either) and don’t think of ever stealing another sentence that didn’t orginate as a thought or idea borne out of your own experiences and most of all, your own brain power. I teach my children to avoid intellectual laziness; after over 6 decades on this planet, how did you miss that lesson?

    You get a do-over now Miss Anne. Use it wisely and erase the faux identity that you have manufactured to impress people that will never know you. Think about it-not only is your identity feigned, so is the passion you claim to have for helping people. You can’t truly have passion for the ideas you didn’t work to create. Zara Green’s time is better spent producing more original work-not chasing down people who choose to steal it. But stopping you and other plagiarists is a priority. Just know, many of us take what you have done extremely personal, so we will be watching. No matter what name you choose to use.”

  12. Zara Green says:

    @Nichole – As a published author I know you feel my pain! SMH And yes, she’s seen this page and probably frequents, but she’s, not only deleted comments, she’s now changed the settings so that no comments can be left, but my content remains…SO BLATANT!

    I am tickled by your post to her though. I have no doubt she read it, along with the many, many others before deleting them. 🙂 Content creators have not taken this sitting down. We self-police well! And it feels great!

    I, too will rally with us to stop this kind of madness!

    Thanks again, Nichole. I sure hope Ms. Anne hasn’t published my stuff…’cause if she has, she’s in for the fight of her life!

    xoxo

  13. Wow, Zara! I’m just speechless…and that truly doesn’t happen often. I can only imagine your indignation and outrage! I’m just going to believe God, that he will continue to direct you to get this mess corrected! I wish you all the best…and..like one of your commentors said, we know YOUR voice when we hear it.

  14. Oh my! I saw that you wrote something about this on your wall, but I didn’t know Sassy’s actions were to this extent.

  15. Zara Green says:

    @MammShould… – Thank you, and thanks for commenting.

    @Lisa – WILD…just, WILD! Thanks reading & commenting Lisa, now beware! 🙂

  16. Zara you know I have your back. It sucks when people have to resort to copying other people’s stuff. I had someone copy my Linked In profile (WORD FOR WORD) a few years back. And when I approached her she said “great minds think alike”. I won’t tell you what I said to her in response. But I am pretty sure that some of my content is out there in the hands of plagiarists. She’s pathetic and I hope you get vindication. Just ridiculous.

  17. I don’t even know where to start 😦 This is just ridiculous. However, it’s one of the reasons why I left a group on Facebook for fear of something like this happening. A dear friend of mine gave me a simple copyright tip for my ‘stuff’ – print it off, mail it to yourself, and don’t open it! LOL! I know it seems corny, but…something is better than nothing. Thanks for continuing to share your wisdom and insight. WOW! Keep us posted and keep it up, Ms. Grown IS Sexy!!!! #prayersforyoutoo

  18. Zara Green says:

    @Adrienne – …your LinkedIn Profile, REALLY?!?!? WHO DOES THAT?!?!? “Great minds think alike” Ahhhahahaha…like you made it up, instead of living it! WOW!

    @TeRetta – your friend is right, mailing to self does work. Much of what she copied is officially copyrighted, plus anything published as original content online is also your intellectual property so she’s just wrong. I’m not going anywhere, TeRetta…I’ll still share. 🙂 Thank you! xo

Leave a Reply

