My Big Chop Became My Clean Shave

Shaved Clean

The first day of spring I got a wild hair up my arse!

That’s the only way to describe what prompted My Big Chop, or in my case, what became My Clean Shave.

To call me impulsive would be, situation-ally accurate, but spontaneous is more fitting. To say that I’m rash could be applicable, but decisive is more like it.

It was Sunday, March 20, 2011, the first day of spring after, what I’ve been told, was the harshest winter in the Northeast. It was also my first winter in the Northeast. I’m such a sun-bunny that I welcomed spring with open arms and after enjoying sunshine and warmth on my deck all day, feeling extra grateful that the snow was done for the season (or so I thought – it returned the very next day) I decided to honor that day with a personal mark of renewal – in a way that only I could make it so as the sun went down I decided I wanted a fresh start – a new me, so I started cutting; chopping about an inch at a time.

Just Started Cutting

When I got down to what was only “new growth” I realized I’d done, The Big Chop.

The Big Chop!

But I couldn’t seem to stop so I grabbed my beau’s clippers. My Big Chop then became My Clean Shave.

Electric Shaved

But was that enough…no…I had to grab the close triple blade and then my head felt like lamb’s skin leather and was as smooth as a baby’s bottom.

Triple Blade Shaved

I’ve always known that I’d cut all of my hair off, if for no other reason to create an adventure for myself; it’s my nature to create experiences. But this time I had an even deeper reason.

“Knowing that we differ is not enough! Understanding HOW we differ is the foundation to self-esteem and respect in any relationship.” ~Zara Green

I’ve been all over the country telling people how to make their NEXT Decision BETTER as an Individuality Advocate, with expertise in temperaments and resilience. My messages are about Living by Design and Living in Harmony: identifying what makes you – you, distinguishing your unique qualities, embracing all of you…establishing a foundation to put YOU, first and to live your best life as harmoniously as possible, with others.

Moving to New York brought me to a realization: I know what qualities distinguish me, I’m clear about my value, and am most comfortable in my own skin – I live my best life, but there was a part of me that I didn’t know, authentically.

I hadn’t felt my natural hair in over 30 years. I’d also never been convicted about that before, but it seemed that my New York audiences were overwhelmingly filled with women who were natural.  And I began to feel the need to know me in that way, and even I was shocked.

You see, I’d been happily permed and didn’t have any desire to be anything else. (You can read about my Southern-bred assimilation experiences here.) Although I’ve lived from Atlanta to Los Angeles, I’m a Southern Girl and mostly working as an independent contractor in the corporate world, going “natural” was out of the question in my world. In my world, going natural was synonymous with possibly not working so I never considered it.

Now here’s what happened about 3 days after The Big Chop. Producers for the Biography Channel called me to be the personal development expert in the “Ted Williams: Homeless to Hollywood story” (you can read the blog that made them want me) which meant, my bald head would be on a national (possibly international) stage.

I’ve gotten all kinds of responses to My Clean Shave, mostly supportive, but I did have some family and friends (from the South and still very much so stuck in some of my prior thinking) who have been clear about their displeasure.  (Yeah, I know, it’s MY head, but their displeased…betta know what you want and do it, despite them!) Like one childhood friend whose response to my answer to why I cut it, “…got a wild hair up my arse”: Why didn’t you just cut the wild hair?! :-)

Anyway, I don’t know where this journey will take me, but I’m enjoying the Shaved Head for now. Feeling extra grown about it, and Grown ISSexy! ;-)

TOO CUTE, HUH? ;-)

Now tell me…have you done The Big Chop? Would you do The Big Chop? What do you think about My Big Chop?

And if you enjoyed this post, please share it.

All the best,
Zara
Speaker, Individuality Advocate
Author of Living by Design and Living in Harmony

About Zara Green
Hi, I'm Zara Green, A "Do Better" Fanatic and Your Advocate...I'm glad you're here! As a personal growth Author and Speaker, who's Individuality & Resilience-Focused, I spark conversations that expand thinking, encourage effective & productive responses and produce better individual decision-making and better interpersonal communications in relationships. Growing Up with Zara because life is meant to be enjoyed ;-)

8 Responses to My Big Chop Became My Clean Shave

  1. Rhonda M says:

    Wow! A shaved head. Wow! LOL. I BCed in August 2010. I had transitioned purposefully since May 2010 and not purposely since May 2009) which means I last permed in May 2009 but didn’t really make a decision to go natural until May 2010. I was wearing braids. My BC was liberating. I am absolutely in love with my natural hair. I live in Atlanta and there are alot of natural haired sistas down here, but also alot of not natural haired sistas too. I say to each his own, but really wish the permed heads felt the same way. I don’t think many of them do. I didn’t know it was a southern thing. That gives me another thing to miss about New Jersey. Enjoy the new you!

  2. Zara Green says:

    @Rhonda – lol, yep…a shaved head! :-) And I am loving it! I lived in Atlanta 12 years total on 2 different occasions and still have lots of friends there. With the winter we just had, don’t be so quick to jet back to NJ. :-) Thanks for sharing your story. Can’t say I’ll forever be natural but I am enjoying being bald now.

  3. Tika J says:

    Wow! Zara, I knew that you would be chopping it off but I didn’t think that you would shave it off! I should have known that you would go big. You never doing anything small! Two thumbs up! :)

  4. Zara Green says:

    @Tika – once I started I had to push my comfort zone. :-) No different than what I do everyday in varying situations. This time EVERYBODY ELSE gets to see my extremism, lol. Thanks Tika!

  5. Well, I have a lot to say about this (since you asked:-)

    First, you look dang cute! Love it!

    Why did it take you so long to write the blog about it? Where there still insecurities? I can imagine I would have posted my face up all day long letting the world know about the shift.

    No need to ask what made you do it. Heck, I know you’re bold enough to try anything once. But, I do wonder why you did this in the Northeast (cold territory) verses Southwest (warm, sunny, bright days) — hint hint, you know L.A. would have been the perfectly place to feel the sun on the bald head. You could come visit some time:-)

    I went to have my head shaved about 2 years ago. EVERYONE was against it. Of course my now 16 year old was mortified at the thought because she LOVES long hair. My hair isn’t that long anyway so I really didn’t think it would matter. I was doing it for convenience and to save some money on weaves (well that’s the truth). It was no statement about being natural or being me — because I’m me — weave, perm, shaved, braids — I just am. Long story short, I didn’t get the shave. The beautician BEGGED ME to let her try something else that would be easy and wouldn’t cost me. She convinced me that shaving my head meant I’d still have to come to the salon to keep it close (yes, I have fears of using clippers on myself–parents instilled in me that I’d cut my head or finger off with clippers–another psychological drama). So, I kept my hair. Still do weaves, wigs, natural and braids. Yes, I change my hair a lot LOL! But, no matter how I change my hair, people still know I’m around the way girl, Thyonne.

    All that to say, you have so clearly pronounced who you are, I don’t see how anyone can see this as any thing more than a Zaraism. Yes, that’s a word — I use it when something crazy, outlandish and purely out of the ordinary and really extreme happens (like shaving your head). So take note and let people know, when you’re pronounced — you’ve become Zara-ized!

    Good luck on the Ted show. Should be interesting. We should talk. Have some other “nonprofit” world scenarios that you can piggy back on as people have given to try and help people — in what I believe — to be the wrong type of gifts.

    Peaceful blessings,

    Thyonne

  6. Zara Green says:

    @Thyonne – LOL!! Thank you, Thank you. I’m glad you like it! I am LOVING IT!!

    No, Thye…no insecurities. Wasn’t even a shift within that caused it, really. I always knew I would, and I did. I guess it’s safe to say that The Shave actually caught up with my gradual internal shift.

    Trust me, I miss Los Angeles…A LOT!! And you’re right, I will probably wonder what da hell I was thinking when it turns cold here again, lol!

    I had NO IDEA you’d done The Big Chop! You’ll have to post some of those pics so I can see.

    And YES, I am Zara-ized!! Love it! You know how to find me.

    Hugs ‘n Love <3

  7. mind blown curls says:

    Hi Zara!

    I did my big chop about 4 years ago. Grew a BANGIN curly fro. Then last year, I got mad at my boyfriend (who has locs down to his arse, and prefers natural hair) and RELAXED my tresses into a straight lifeless mop of… stuff…. I regretted it as SOON as I did it! *i’ve since reformed from acting out my boy angst via my hair* So, this past Saturday, armed with about 3 months worth of new growth, I big chopped again… :-) I traded in a head of very long swangin hurr, for a low (but not faded) natural. I’m so damn happy about it! I work in Corporate America (ha HA!), and everyone where i work was used to the me with long hair… but today, as I walked through the office, and jaws DROPPED in disbelief (disgust), I just laughed inside, and embraced my personal freedom as I never did before. I will never go back to the dull life! And I DIG the shaved head. Your head has ZERO lumps!!!! awesomeness :-)

  8. Zara Green says:

    LOL!!! I LOVE YOUR STORY @Mind Blown Curls!!! StrutCho Stuff girl, embrace your freed and rock yo natural!! I love your confidence and love of self.

    “ZERO lumps” lol!! No, I don’t think I have any lumps and I am REALLY enjoying my shaved DO. I’m gonna keep it a while, but when I grow out my low (but not faded) natural, I’ll be thinking of you.

    Thanks for leaving a comment. You are AWESOME!! Hugs ‘n Love, Girl! :-) <3

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 6,038 other followers

